Image

Cauliflower Crust Pizza

Cauliflower Crust Pizza

Thank you Mimosas in the Morning for this one:

http://www.mimosasnthemorning.com/2012/07/cauliflower-pizza.html

For mine (pictured) I used a ton of veggies – eggplant, zucchini, mushrooms, peppers, onions, and a ton of garlic (maybe too much if you’re not a garlic lover) I sauteed the veggies before i put them on the personal pizzas, since we were only broiling in the end (not enough time to cook the veggies).

I altered this recipe by using trader joes soy cheese in the crust, and the yogurt lactose free cheese on top. I am sure it is delicious both ways.

I fed these to two of my meat eating, dairy eating friends and they loved them, and said they were very filling. I always call it a win when my meat eating friends like my veggie cooking.

One thing that I am iffy about is that it called for 1 egg for every 1 cup of cheese, and cauliflower. my crusts were a little more wet when I was putting them in the oven than I think they should have been. I have seen other recipes call for only 1 egg per every 2 cups of cauliflower. I think I will try that next time.

UPDATE: Last night (3/6) I tried this again with some friends.  I used (2) cups of cauliflower to 1 cup of soy cheese and 1 egg.  SO. MUCH. BETTER. Crust was far less soggy than before – much more like real crust.  ALSO – after you’re done cooking the cauliflower (in the microwave) if you strain it or ring it out with paper towel it helps to get the moisture out (again, less wet).

Last, but important – I cooked 4 of mine on parchment paper, and 1 on the pan. The ones on the parchment paper cooked better, and didn’t stick, so I suggest that.  Another update: do not use tinfoil, ever.  Use spray on a cookie sheet, or parchment paper.

Have fun! Guilt free pizza is so fun!

Leave a Reply

